

NORTH SCHUYLKILL SCHOOL DISTRICT

Home of the Spartans ~~ Home of the Spartans ~~

Regular Meeting - May 14, 2025

A Regular Meeting of the North Schuylkill Board of Education was held on the above date in the LGI Room of the North Schuylkill Junior/Senior High School.

Action was taken on the following agenda items:

Finance Committee

Approved:

Financial reports and check registers

fthe Proposal from Custom Sign Source

fthe engagement letter with Levin Legal Group

for the sale of a repository property in Ashland

Frivate tax sales of properties in Ashland, Girardville and Ringtown

f the District Data Management Services Contract with CSIU

Physical Facilities

Approved:

Facility Use Applications

fthe Proposal from S and S Project Solutions for the pull-out classroom at NSE

fithe Proposals from Ultra-Seal for sealing two areas

<u>Personnel</u>

Approved:

🧖 an Administrative Internship for Steven Wolfgang, Elementary Teacher

Fifteen additional summer work days for Secondary and Elementary Guidance Counselors

The Department Chairpersons for the 2025-2026 school year

The Grade Level Coordinators for the 2025-2026 school year

Karla Herring, Christine Greblick and Kelly Boyer as Homebound Teachers for the 2025-2026 school year

The resignations of Patricia Dougherty-Wade and Cody Wetzel Social Studies Teachers; Talia Lewis, Math Teacher; Lercy Antalosky, Full-Time Aide/Secretary; Jason Subach and Phil Koles, Part-Time Paraprofessionals

Childbearing/childrearing leave requests for Samantha Shinkus, Elementary Teacher and Victoria Hornberger, Science Teacher

f the transfer/change of assignments for the 2025-2026 school year

Megan Babinsky and Kyle Bryant as Secondary Math Teachers; Grace Miller as an Elementary Special Education Teacher and Khristian Onuschak as an Elementary Computer Teacher

mentor teachers

痛 an Intermittent FMLA Leave Request for Terry Senglar, Full-Time Cafeteria/Custodian

f the notice of retirement for Alberta Pukavage, Library Aide

the following individuals as Temporary Part-Time Summer Maintenance/Custodians for the Summer of 2025: Eugene Zdiera and Anthony Tenaglia

痛 Leave Without Pay Requests for Holly Ewing, Part-Time Cafeteria Worker and Amanda Reed, Part-Time Paraprofessional

Curriculum & Instructional Programs

Approved:

Letters of Agreement for SAP and ESAP for the 2025-2026 school year

f the Linkage Letter/Referral Agreement with Child and Family Support Services

f the revised 2024-2025 Title I Letter of Agreement with the IU 29

Food Service, Safety, Transportation

Approved:

adding Daqwan Walters and Carol Abalo to the roster of School Bus Drivers/Van Drivers/Aides
the Use of Premises Agreement with Geisinger Health Plan

Extracurricular Programs

Approved:

for the following Supplemental Positions for the 2025-2026 school year:

Nathan Hampton – 4H Club

Brandi Kline – 7th – 9th Grade Fall Production Director

 $\label{eq:michelle Schwartz-7th-9th} \ \ \text{Michelle Schwartz}-7^{th}-9^{th}\ \ \text{Grade Fall Production Director Assistant}$

Jason Kline – 7th – 9th Grade Fall Production Tech Director

Joseph Wyatt – Academic Team Advisor

Merri Lynn Craig - Act 48 Coordinator

Joe Tomtishen & Jenna Dyszel – AEVIDUM Club

Kerri Herring – Art Club Advisor

Jacob Shoener – Band (Concert Band)

Jacob Shoener — Band (Jazz Band)

Jacob Shoener – Band Director

Douglas Cole – Band Director Assistant

Michelle Schwartz – Band Director (Elementary)

Nevaida Rau - Band Front Advisor

Michelle Schwartz – Choral Director, Elementary

Brandi Kline – Choral Director, JSHS

Michelle Schwartz - Choral Director, JSHS Assistant

Nick Brayford & Amy Maziekas – Class Advisors, Freshmen

Amy Maziekas & Nick Brayford — Class Advisors, Juniors

Amy Maziekas & Nick Brayford — Class Advisors Seniors

Joe Tomtishen & Leah Briggs – Class Advisors, Sophomores

VACANT – Diversity Club Advisor

Rachael Pasco & Carrie Miller – Elementary Art Club (Show)

Sandy Selgrade – Elementary Envirothon

Danielle Moyer - JSHS Envirothon

VACANT – Envirothon Assistant – JSHS

Tammey Fey – Elementary Envirothon Assistant

Gene Lapointe – eSports Advisor

Justin Sharp — Fire/Rescue Club Advisor

Lindsey Petritsch & Brett Budwash – Friends Forever

Kristen Weinreich – Friends Forever, Elementary

John Cuthie – Honor Society Advisor

Jamie Wagner – Honor Society – English

Lindsay Furman – Honor Society – Foreign Language Leah Briggs – Honor Society – Math Kelly Boyer – Honor Society – Science Joseph Wyatt – Honor Society – Social Studies

Jennifer Rex – Math Counts Advisor

Joann Miller & Michelle Misiewicz – News & Media Group Advisors

Melanie Fowler – Pep Club

Brandi Kline - Play Director

Sarah Barket – Play Director Assistant

Michelle Schwartz - Play Music Director

Jason Kline - Play Tech Director

Melanie Fowler – SADD Advisor

Melissa Lorady & Joe Tomtishen — Senior Project Advisors

Jen Rex - Ski Club Advisor

Michelle Misiewicz – Social Media Advisor

Danielle Moyer – Spanish Club Advisor

Gene Lapointe – Spelling Bee Coordinator

Gene Lapointe - STEM Advisor - Senior High

Nathan Hampton – STEM Advisor – Junior High

Joann Miller - Student Council Advisor

Melanie Fowler - TAT Advisor

Jamie Swartz – Tech Lead Teacher - Elementary

Michelle Misiewicz – Tech Lead Teacher – JSHS

Craig Wagner - Trap Club

Scott Frew – Weightlifting Advisor (1st Half)

Pete Stanakis – Weightlifting Advisor (2nd Half)

Joann Miller - Yearbook Advisor

Michelle Misiewicz – Yearbook Assistant Advisor

f the appointment of the following Coaches for the 2025-2026 Winter Season:

Marcie Ackell – Head Swimming

Rich Wetzel - Head Girls Basketball

Leah Briggs - Wrestling Cheerleading

Corey Fetterolf – Head Wrestling

Melissa Tenaglia - Varsity Basketball Cheerleading

Ellen Geidner – Basketball/Wrestling Cheerleading

Brian Fetterolf - Head Diving

the appointment of the following Coaches for the 2025 Season:

Football – Pete Stanakis, Gene Lapointe, Mike Jacavage, Jake Mogish, Carl Stine, Anthony Russo, Dylan

Farronato – Assistants; Brett Budwash – Assistant/Head Junior Varsity; Joe Tomtishen, Joe Kane, Jack

Kempsey, Trevor Minalda – Volunteers

Boys Soccer – Albert Maziekas, Assistant; Khristian Onuschak, Volunteer

Volleyball – Jamie Palmerio, Assistant

Cross Country – Autumn Pedron, Randy Sausser – Assistants; Jennifer Dacus, Volunteer

Bocce Ball – Brett Budwash, Craig Demko, Erin Anderson – Co-Head Coaches

Policy/Legislative

Approved:

for the MOU with the Butler Township Police Department

 $oldsymbol{\kappa}$ the First Reading of the following policies: 317, 317.1, 320 and 718

Committee of the Whole Meeting

The following **Students of the Month** were recognized by their teachers and presented a School Themed Shirt from the Board:

7th Grade - Cassandra Gaunt *nominated by Ms. Greblick*8th Grade - Caleb Farrone *nominated by Ms. Moyer*9th Grade - Coleman Kruger *nominated by Ms. Hughes*11th Grade - Giovanni Bilbay *nominated by Ms. Moyer*

The following **Students of the Month** were recognized at the Kindergarten End of Year Show on May 8, 2025, by their teachers and presented a School Themed Shirt from the Board:

Self-Starter - Raegan Rumbel nominated by Ms. Marnell
Positive - Kaylee Wallace nominated by Ms. VanderMeer
Ambitious - Rylee Ward nominated by Ms. Hoak
Resourceful - Wesley Houser nominated by Ms. Borden
Team Player - Kaysen Bracey nominated by Ms. Miller
Authentic - Rex Wydra nominated by Ms. Artley
Natural Leader - Skyler Roche nominated by Mr. Farronato

Merri Lynn Craig, Board Secretary



Upcoming Meetings

June 18, 2025 – Committee Meetings – 7:00 p.m.

- Regular Meeting – immediately following Committee Meetings